The Scene


David Soar

David Soar


David Soar was born in Nottinghamshire and studied at the Royal Academy of Music and the National Opera Studio.

Highlights in his 2015/16 season include Seneca L’incoronazione di Poppea (Academy of Ancient Music/Egarr), First Nazarene Salome (Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra/Karabits), Handel's Messiah (Royal Northern Sinfonia/Bicket), Frère Laurent Roméo et Juliette (BBC Symphony Orchestra/Sir Andrew Davis), Haydn's Die sieben letzte Worte (Orchestre des Champs Elysées/Herreweghe), the title role in Handel's Saul (BBC Singers) and Peter Quice A Midsummer Night's Dream (Glyndebourne).

His future engagements also include débuts for the Teatro Réal in Madrid and for Garsington Opera, and returns to the Metropolitan Opera, the English National Opera and to Covent Garden.

He has sung Colline La bohème and Masetto Don Giovanni (Metropolitan Opera); Escamillo Carmen, Masetto, Mr Flint Billy Budd and Collatinus The Rape of Lucretia (Glyndebourne); Le Duc Roméo et Juliette (Salzburg Festival); Quinault Adriana Lecouvreur (Covent Garden); Nilakantha Lakmé (Opera Holland Park); Basilio The Barber of Seville, Roy Disney The Perfect American and Bernardino Benvenuto Cellini (English National Opera) and Leporello Don Giovanni, Figaro Le nozze di Figaro, Escamillo and Sparafucile Rigoletto (Welsh National Opera).

Highlights on the concert platform include The Dream of Gerontius (BBC Symphony Orchestra/Sir Andrew Davis), Messiah (The English Concert/Bicket, Academy of Ancient Music/Egarr & Britten Sinfonia/Hill), Stravinsky motets (Collegium Vocale/Herreweghe), Weill's The Seven Deadly Sins (Hallé Orchestra/Elder), Belshazzar’s Feast (BBC Philharmonic Orchestra/Storgårds), The Midsummer Marriage at the BBC Proms (BBC Symphony Orchestra/Sir Andrew Davis), Wozzeck (Philharmonia//Salonen), Masetto Don Giovanni (SCO/Ticciati) and Beethoven's Symphony no. 9 (Mackerras).

Visit the Schmopera store

Related Companies

Unlike other sites, we're keeping Schmopera ad-free. We want to keep our site clean and our opinions our own. Support us for as little as $1.00 per month.